Plastic Panorama Photography

I am often asked “What is a Plastic Panorama?” or “What is a Plastic Camera?”. Simply put, a Plastic Camera is just that! A camera made of plastic, but more importantly a plastic lens. My Plastic Panoramas are the same thing only I’m shooting with a Kodak “Fun Saver Panoramic 35” disposable camera made from 1992 – 1999. I usually purchased these cameras in line at our local grocery store for $10.95. I have purchased a dozen of these cameras over the years, and have run hundreds of rolls of film through each one of them, but in time they do eventually cease to function. I’m down to five functioning cameras, I just lost one last weekend.

What they look like new. A recent import from Great Britain (e-Bay).

Then I take off the paper carton. Take out the Kodak Gold 400 film.

Add a Yellow Gelatin Filter cut from a Roscolux Cine filter sample book.

The mask in place makes the “panoramic” format. With a very fine file I rough up the edge a little to give that irregular line at the rebate edge.

In the darkroom, or if I’m out in the field, in a film changing tent, I re-load the camera with Kodak Tri-X film, and tape up the seams with black camera tape. I like Tri-X film because of the soft grain, and the ability to nicely push or pull the film with great results. I use several cameras for each different lighting condition, then push or pull the film in the darkroom.

Kodak 25mm f=12 two element plastic lens.

6 thoughts on “Plastic Panorama Photography

  1. Hello:

    I enjoyed your website & photography. I may be able to scrounge up a plastic pano camera for you. If I can find one where shall I send it?

    Regards,

    Phil Steblay

  2. Pingback: On the Web: Deon Reynolds modifies/reuses disposable panoramic cameras | camerasandfilm.com

  3. Wonderful post. I had been searching for a cheaper alternative to an xpan camera and tried a few different cameras, but in the end I was always dissapointed with the results. You seem to get some great photos from these, cameras, amazing what they can do really.

    Does this camera actually take full frame panoramics or does it simply crop the top and bottom like a vivitar PN2011?

  4. Pingback: Plastic Panoramic « Craft Collective

Leave a Reply

